June 1st: Kentucky’s Admission as the 15th State of the Union

June 1, 2023

In the late 18th century, Kentucky was an integral part of the western frontier, a part of the expansive Virginia Colony. In 1776, the colony of Virginia declared its independence, taking with it what is now known as Kentucky. However, as the population of the region increased, so did the desire for separate statehood.

The first petition for statehood was presented to the U.S. Despite this early bid, Kentucky’s journey towards statehood was long and challenging. A total of ten conventions were held over the next eight years to address various concerns, ranging from boundary disputes to constitutional considerations.

Finally, on June 1, 1792, Kentucky was admitted as the 15th state of the United States. This came after assurances of Kentucky’s loyalty to the federal government during the tumultuous period, and after successfully navigating a complex process for admission that had been newly established by the Northwest Ordinance.

Kentucky’s admission marked a significant moment in American history, representing the first state to be carved out of the lands west of the Appalachian Mountains, a frontier at that time. This marked a precedent for the continued westward expansion of the United States, transforming the country into a coast-to-coast nation over the next century. Today, Kentucky’s rich history serves as a testament to the country’s growth and the enduring spirit of its people.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Previous Fact
May 31st: The U.S. Copyright Act of 1790 Is Enacted
Next Fact
June 2nd: Pathway to Recognition- The Indian Citizenship Act of 1924 and its Implications
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Notable Births & Passings